RentAGuzzi Motorcycle Rentals & Tours – Los Angeles CA
  1. Ciao Guest, Welcome to the GT Forum! GuzziTech is now back to our origins; We hope you enjoy the Guzzi Global Community Forum here. NEW REGISTRATIONS REQUIRE EMAIL ACTIVATION - CHECK YOUR SPAM FOLDER. ALWAYS TRY A SEARCH BEFORE STARTING A NEW TOPIC - AND PLEASE DON'T BE A DRIVE-BY POSTER: If you are posting on numerous sites on the web, please stop back and follow up. There is zero tolerance on personal attacks and off-site links to other Forums or competing products. Note there's decades of Guzzi hands-on experienced help on this site, all whom give endless amounts of their time for free - be courteous. Note all of our products and custom bike builds are now on our sister site; GTMotoCycles.com - Store tab above. You need a different username and password to get into the new GTM Store system - pending and past order info is available there. NOTE: We are not Amazon, we are a tiny one man operation with several business going at once - Sign into the Store to check on orders before contacting us. Thanks for your patience on orders. For those who are new here, the owner of this site (Todd - GT-Rx®) has been immersed in Guzzis since 1999. He's raced and wrenched for two-thirds of his life, both Pro dirt-track and road-race, and contributed to Cycle World Magazine from 2000~2007. He began Guzzi dyno performance modifying and fuel tuning in 2001, and has been wrenching them full time since 2007. His GT MotoCycles workshop has been open for ~4 years in Orange, CA. We do not have a phone number for this site or GTM, we're online only... do not ask us to call you. Click on the Service tab above for more info or to book an appointment -- it is not a retail shop to visit. If you're in L.A., you can come sample our work via our rental fleet - click the image link above. In a few short years GuzziTech.com will hit the 20 year mark of providing advice and tech tips for free. Understand that this is a privately paid for website, not a free social media platform littered with ads to help pay for it. Donations appreciated via the Account upgrade (see Site Support section below) or the Donate tab above, which unlocks all of the content here along with the Classifieds, Ask the Wrench sections and our Seasonal discount notices. Thank you for all of the continued support and contributions.

1100 several things on dash not working.

Discussion in 'Griso-Bella Chat & Tech' started by Raggitash, Jan 16, 2019.

  1. Raggitash

    Raggitash Just got it firing!

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2018
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Nairn, Scotland
    Hi guys,

    I bought a Griso 1100 in amazing condition with everything working.

    It was left for a couple of months (Winter) and the battery lost charge ( I didn't know), when I tried to start it everything obviously lost power.

    It now will not
    1. Cycle through menus using the left front select button.
    2. The clock has stopped, just doesn't run.
    3. The view select switch shows battery ( with no menu Toggle available), trip 2 on BOTH position 1 AND 2

    I tried on/off, battery disconnected/connected. Bike starts and temp, mph, rev counter all work. Is there a reset or something I can try?

    Help please.

    Thanks
     
    Last edited: Jan 17, 2019
  2. Kevin.NZ

    Kevin.NZ Cruisin' Guzzisti

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2009
    Messages:
    309
    Likes Received:
    46
    Location:
    Howick, Auckland, New Zealand.
    I am not aware of a reset button but you could disconnect the battery then remove the plugs that go into the dash, spray them with contact cleaner and re insert. Maybe your Scottish winter got the better of them.
     
  3. Raggitash

    Raggitash Just got it firing!

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2018
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Nairn, Scotland
    Thanks Kevin, Winter only started today with a pathetic attempt of 0'C and the bike hasn't been out in even that.

    I have tried the connections already without luck.

    I am dreading that it may be something more sinister.

    Raggi
     
  4. V700Steve

    V700Steve High Miler GT Contributor

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2008
    Messages:
    588
    Likes Received:
    195
    Location:
    Atlanta area, GA
    I would get a new battery first.
     
    john zibell likes this.
  5. kiwi dave

    kiwi dave GT Reference

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2008
    Messages:
    1,731
    Likes Received:
    225
    Location:
    Auckland, New Zealand
    While waiting to connect your new battery, short the positive and negative terminals together overnight.

    If the fault still persists, unplug the Dashboard, clean the contact and reinsert several times.
     
  6. Raggitash

    Raggitash Just got it firing!

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2018
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Nairn, Scotland
    Hi again,

    Tried all sorts and still missing functionality. Anyone know how to go about reflashing ecu from a standing start.

    Or where to get another.

    Cheers
     
  7. V700Steve

    V700Steve High Miler GT Contributor

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2008
    Messages:
    588
    Likes Received:
    195
    Location:
    Atlanta area, GA
    Reflashing ECU won't make the dash work. Dash is of itself an ecu, sort of. I would try dash on a different Griso 1st. Does bike start OK now?
     
  8. Raggitash

    Raggitash Just got it firing!

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2018
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Nairn, Scotland
    Yes, the bike starts and rides fine. it shows mph and rev counter both working.

    the clock does not leave 00.00 and function button does nothing.

    cheers
     
  9. kiwi dave

    kiwi dave GT Reference

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2008
    Messages:
    1,731
    Likes Received:
    225
    Location:
    Auckland, New Zealand
    Does sound like a dash issue. Have you tried cleaning the multipin plug that plugs into the dash yet?
     
  10. Raggitash

    Raggitash Just got it firing!

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2018
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Nairn, Scotland
    Hi

    Yes, I have also removed and refitted it several times. Might I be missing something?

    Is there anything elso I can do with the dash?

    Cheers
     
  11. john zibell

    john zibell Moderator Staff Member GT Famiglia

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2008
    Messages:
    7,364
    Likes Received:
    571
    Location:
    Huntsville, AL
    Once you have gone through everything you can on the bike. You may need to send the dash to these folks. https://www.carmo.nl/
     
  12. kiwi dave

    kiwi dave GT Reference

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2008
    Messages:
    1,731
    Likes Received:
    225
    Location:
    Auckland, New Zealand
    I know it's no consolation, but I had a Breva 1100 that I removed the battery for several months. When the battery was installed the odometer jumped from 26,980 kM to 335,544 kM and froze. I never leave bikes without a battery connected for long periods anymore.
     
  13. Hugh

    Hugh Just got it firing!

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2016
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    UK
    Oh bum - ive had my Griso in the workshop tracing a fault and waiting for a replacement ECU - with battery disconnected for a few months now - hope it all goes ok when back together !! I there a battery in the dash to preserve info which eventually dies ?
     
  14. V700Steve

    V700Steve High Miler GT Contributor

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2008
    Messages:
    588
    Likes Received:
    195
    Location:
    Atlanta area, GA
    No batt in dash, everything gets reset in settings after new battery.
     
  15. kiwi dave

    kiwi dave GT Reference

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2008
    Messages:
    1,731
    Likes Received:
    225
    Location:
    Auckland, New Zealand
    It doesn't take much current to maintain the dash. Find 12v in dry cells or whatever, and place that temporarily across the battery terminals (observing polarity of course). Or get your new replacement battery now.

    Having the ECU disconnected will do no harm.
     
  16. kampe

    kampe Cruisin' Guzzisti

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2009
    Messages:
    154
    Likes Received:
    11
    Location:
    Heiligerlee, Groningen
    For the past 10 years i have disconnected my battery in my griso an the wife's breva to keep them in a warm place and the bikes stay in the cold garage. I never had any problems reconnecting them. all works fine. I do make an efford in disconnecting and reconnecting the leads without Sparks and in one try.
     
  17. Hugh

    Hugh Just got it firing!

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2016
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    UK
    Ok - I put the Giso 1100 all back together yesterday with the replacement (used) ECU, battery in and fired up and ran fine. A little rough to at first because of lack of fuel but then good. Took it for a test ride and all good. My original problem was not re-starting when hot and left standing for an hour or so with various random symptoms. - So Ive been through it and got advice and think it was a bad earth to the ECU and possibly water damage in the ECU. More test rides to do to confirm reliability of the fix but wow enjoyed the Griso experience once again
    Just for info related to previous posts - the dash still works fine after months disconnected, keys worked fine with replacement ECU. -
    Now it is running fine to my knowledge, but Question is, the replacement ECU is from an 06 bike when mine is an 08, so should the ECU be updated to a newer 'flash' or whatever - in the UK ?
     
    Last edited: Mar 17, 2019
  18. kiwi dave

    kiwi dave GT Reference

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2008
    Messages:
    1,731
    Likes Received:
    225
    Location:
    Auckland, New Zealand
    If you have software to reset the TPS, it should be able to show the version in the ECU. There are downloads of various maps available on line, it's up to you whether you want to trust them. Whatever you do, always back up the existing map first before replacing it.

    Good to hear the dash (another ECU) survived the months of being disconnected.
     
  19. hhkiwi

    hhkiwi Tuned and Synch'ed

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2013
    Messages:
    81
    Likes Received:
    10
    Location:
    Ulm, Germany
    Dang, I have the same problem as Raggitash! Had my battery disconnected and on a battery tender over winter (I have no power in my garage).

    Got the bike going again last weekend and since then my dash only works partially - speedo, odo and rev counter work, the rest is dead.

    With the trip switch in "Mode" the LCD display goes blank.

    Raggitash, have you made any progress with your situation?
     
  20. Raggitash

    Raggitash Just got it firing!

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2018
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Nairn, Scotland
    Hi guys,

    I sent my dash to Carmo. They were very helpful to the point of send a video clip.

    Turns out there is nothing wrong with the dash. I have just refitted it and still have the problem.

    Koen at Carmo gave me some checks to do around the three way switch and I am not getting the voltage responses he described.

    I want to check my earths but don't know where they all are, Can you help?

    I would also like to know where the mode button terminates so that I can check that as well.

    Looked at the cct drawing but it is not clear. Help would be gratefully received.

    Thanks Raggi
     

Share This Page