Ridemalibu Motorcycle Rentals & Tours – Los Angeles CA
  1. Ciao Guest - You’ve landed at the ultimate Guzzi site. In SoCal? See the SERVICE tab above for the best in service, tires, tuning and installation of our products or custom work. NEW FORUM REGISTRATIONS REQUIRE EMAIL ACTIVATION - CHECK YOUR SPAM FOLDER - Use the CONTACT above if we can be of help. ALWAYS TRY A SEARCH BEFORE STARTING A NEW TOPIC - Most questions you may have are already answered on the Forum with FACTS, NOT OPINIONS. PLEASE DON'T BE A DRIVE-BY POSTER: As a common courtesy, check back if you are posting elsewhere on the web. Note there's decades of Guzzi hands-on experienced help on this site, all whom give endless amounts of their time for free; BE COURTEOUS AND RESPECTFUL! Also be sure to click on the STORE link also above for our 600+ product inventory, including many of our 100% Made-in-house-USA GTM products and engine kits. We appreciate the consideration, understanding and your business... past and future. And if you haven't seen our MotoCycle (not) art, click on the BUILDS tab above to see our work at our sister business; GT MotoCycles® -- WE ARE ONLINE ONLY - NO PHONE CALLS MADE OR RECEIVED.
  2. There is ZERO tolerance on personal attacks and ANY HYPERLINKS to a PRODUCT or other competing website(s), this includes personal pages, social media or other Forums. We work very hard to keep info relevant here. First offense is a note, second is a warning, third time will get you banned from the site. Sorry to have to do this, but we don't have the time to chase repeat (and ignorant) offenders. This is NOT a social media platform; It's an ad-free, privately funded website, in small help with user donations. Be sure to see our online STORE link above; GTM product purchases help support the site, or you can upgrade your Forum profile or DONATE via the link above.

GTM ECU V7 & V9 Flash Tool

Discussion in 'V7/V85/V9 Chat & Tech' started by GTM®, Jul 31, 2015.

  1. Jeffrey Clanet

    Jeffrey Clanet Just got it firing!

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2018
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    NYC
    Having a bit of trouble getting my reflash tool to recognize my bike - followed the update procedure but still no luck.

    Video:

    Any advice would be appreciated - and forgive me if this has already been covered!
     
  2. Mayakovski

    Mayakovski High Miler GT Famiglia

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2017
    Messages:
    759
    Likes Received:
    357
    Location:
    Comox, BC, CANADA
    As noted in the instructions, DO NOT have the bike running. Do have the key turned on, but do not start the bike. The instructions work, just read them very carefully.
     
    GTM® likes this.
  3. My name is Jeff

    My name is Jeff Cruisin' Guzzisti

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2015
    Messages:
    146
    Likes Received:
    64
    Location:
    Australia
    Hook the unit up without ignition turned on then push on screen to upload map or read your old map then the unit will tell you when to turn the ignition on and off.
     
    Mayakovski likes this.
  4. Mayakovski

    Mayakovski High Miler GT Famiglia

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2017
    Messages:
    759
    Likes Received:
    357
    Location:
    Comox, BC, CANADA
    Interesting, I do not remember mine telling me when to turn on the ignition. I plugged mine into the bike, waited until the screen powered up and then turned on the ignition, waited a few seconds and then everything worked perfectly.
     
  5. Godfrey

    Godfrey High Miler GT Famiglia

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2017
    Messages:
    869
    Likes Received:
    575
    Location:
    San Francisco Bay Area
    It doesn't matter whether the ignition is on or not when you plug the unit in.

    It does matter whether the engine is running, however. The engine should not be running... when it is, the ECU is executing code, running sensors and such, and cannot be updated until it's back to the "power on, ready" state.
     
    Mayakovski likes this.
  6. Oliver Davies

    Oliver Davies Just got it firing!

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2018
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    London
    Hi All,

    I would appreciate some basic help with reading my ECU.

    I have Todd's Flash tool and each time I try to read and download the existing ECU info, ready for re-mapping, I keep getting the error message... "an error occurred while reading data from the ECU. Please try again." I try again but the same message appears each time.
    Just before the error message the screen says "key on and confirm". I would assume this means turn on the ignition with the key, however, I absolutely did not want to try this as it is not described under the 'Operating Instructions' that came with the tool and it clearly states under 'First Use': "the bike should NEVER be running for any part of this process".

    What does "Key on and confirm" mean? and, why can't the flash tool read my ECU???

    IMG_2089.jpg IMG_2090.jpg IMG_2091.jpg IMG_2092.jpg
     
  7. Raven

    Raven High Miler GT Famiglia

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2017
    Messages:
    722
    Likes Received:
    410
    Location:
    Lac Ste. Marie, Qc
    Turn the key on to power up the ECU. Don't start the engine.
     
    Mayakovski likes this.
  8. Oliver Davies

    Oliver Davies Just got it firing!

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2018
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    London
    Thanks Raven!
    It was quite obvious but thought I'd check with those in the know.
    Todd has also now updated the operating instructions to make it clearer.

    Flash done and throttle calibrated. Whilst there is not a drastic difference, the bike is running smooth and there is less drag on releasing the throttle when in motion.
    Perhaps the SAS and evaporation can do need to come off, although this is more work than I anticipated.
     
  9. GTM®

    GTM® Administrator Staff Member GT di Razza Pura

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2009
    Messages:
    12,308
    Likes Received:
    4,507
    Location:
    Malibu
    Drastic differences come from modifications like intake and exhaust. This is an air/fuel correction only. Smoothness and throttle response is all it does really.
    My map is built around the mods I state. ;)
     
  10. Mayakovski

    Mayakovski High Miler GT Famiglia

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2017
    Messages:
    759
    Likes Received:
    357
    Location:
    Comox, BC, CANADA
    Here is a link to the SAS page and instructions, detailed instructions with pictures on 2nd page. Took me about 2.5 hours and that included removing the fuel tank to make for more work room and light. Not hard at all. :)

    https://www.guzzitech.com/forums/threads/gtm-secondary-air-supply-sas-block-off-kit.18018/
     
  11. Godfrey

    Godfrey High Miler GT Famiglia

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2017
    Messages:
    869
    Likes Received:
    575
    Location:
    San Francisco Bay Area
    I posted the procedure to block off the EVAP and vent the tank normally a while ago. It's here:
    https://www.guzzitech.com/forums/threads/evap-removal-from-v7iii-racer.17879/

    Takes about 20 minutes max. I haven't yet removed the canister, but that's about a three minute job (just unbolt, pull the unused portion of the vacuum line, and throw far away...). Just haven't gotten a round tuit. :D
     
    Mayakovski likes this.
  12. DETRoadster

    DETRoadster Tuned and Synch'ed GT Contributor

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2018
    Messages:
    72
    Likes Received:
    13
    Location:
    Seattle
    Hi All, hoping someone can lend some advice with the GTM Flash Tool. I have a 2014 V7 Racer. Downloaded the the software to a PC, no problem. Connected up the FT to the PC and allowed it to update. Seemed to go fine; no errors. Connected the FT to the bike and followed the instructions in the manual to read and store the stock file to the FT. it prompts me to verify the ignition is on, which is is (ignition on, engine NOT running), it begins to read the ECU and then gives me the following error: "ERROR - ECU in Recovery, reading not allowed." I've double checked the diagnostic port to make sure the two wires are in good shape and the pins are not pushed back. All looks good there. I also attempted to use some of the other functions on the programmer to see if it could read data from the ECU. Under the "Diagnostic" tab there's selections for EOBD, Vehicle List, and My Vehicle. EOBD and Vehicle list both return "Warning! Function not available" while "My Vehicle" simply chimes at me when I press the button.

    Any idea folks?! Thanks!
     
  13. GTM®

    GTM® Administrator Staff Member GT di Razza Pura

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2009
    Messages:
    12,308
    Likes Received:
    4,507
    Location:
    Malibu
    Covered many times here and in the instructions, but happy to post it again (and again)... the bike must be as ready to start, meaning in neutral, in the run position, etc. EOBD is not available as the bike is not EOBD. Also covered in the instructions. ;)
     
  14. DETRoadster

    DETRoadster Tuned and Synch'ed GT Contributor

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2018
    Messages:
    72
    Likes Received:
    13
    Location:
    Seattle
    Hey Todd, thanks for chiming in on a Saturday night. I promise I followed the instructions for reading the original file. Even printed them off and brought them down to the shop with me! Understood on the EOBD. Admittedly I did not get that far in the manual. I had stopped at the "Reading the original file" section.

    Anyway, I think I got it. I had selected "V7 Cafe Racer" from the menu. On the next page is a "V7 Racer" option. That one seems to be the ticket. Download is in process now.:)
     
    GTM® likes this.
  15. Stradagene

    Stradagene Cruisin' Guzzisti GT Famiglia

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2016
    Messages:
    331
    Likes Received:
    311
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    Oh noooo!
    You did not really post that :p
     
  16. Chris Weber

    Chris Weber Just got it firing!

    Joined:
    May 3, 2016
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    5
    Location:
    Ellicott City, Maryland
    Boy I hope this has not already been covered, and I missed it.
    I just got the new GTMv2-NEW.mod file for my 2015 V7, Todd mentioned a couple things that also must be accomplished, and they flew over my head. Perhaps someone here can help.

    1) "Be sure to run the Throttle Position Command under the Diagnosis > My Bike tab. When flash is done." Is this obvious once I start ?

    2) Todd mentioned "the map is built around the evap can & tip valve delete. Can somebody help me on this?

    What becomes of the two hoses connected to the evap can. Does one get plugged and the other fuel tank vent just hangs there?

    And what does "tip valve delete" mean. Are theses done before I get started"


    Thanks a million.
    Chris
     
    andyalp likes this.
  17. Mayakovski

    Mayakovski High Miler GT Famiglia

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2017
    Messages:
    759
    Likes Received:
    357
    Location:
    Comox, BC, CANADA
    Remove Evap
    Read in detail, it's all there and all easy.

    SAS Block Off
    Not sure if this is the same thing as a "Tip Valve", but these were the two things Todd had me do on my V7 III before installing the new map.
     
  18. V7 Dreaming

    V7 Dreaming Tuned and Synch'ed

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2018
    Messages:
    47
    Likes Received:
    23
    Location:
    Thailand
    Tip valve should be a valve that is between the hose from fuel tank and the hose to the evap can.
     
  19. DETRoadster

    DETRoadster Tuned and Synch'ed GT Contributor

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2018
    Messages:
    72
    Likes Received:
    13
    Location:
    Seattle
    Yep, this one is obvious when you are in the scan tool. I dont recall the exact verbiage but its something like "Throttle Position Reset." YOu select that one and the tool does the rest. it will confirm for you when it's done. That's the only indication it's complete.
     
  20. Larry Vance

    Larry Vance Tuned and Synch'ed GT Contributor

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2014
    Messages:
    97
    Likes Received:
    7
    Location:
    Connecticut
    So am I correct in that the refleash tool is designed to work only if the evap can & tip valve are deleted. If these steps are not taken is there any advantage to the reflash? Thanks
     

Share This Page