Ridemalibu Motorcycle Rentals & Tours – Los Angeles CA
  1. Ciao Guest - You’ve landed at the ultimate Guzzi site. In SoCal? See the Service tab above for the best in service, tires, tuning and installation of our products or custom work. NEW REGISTRATIONS REQUIRE EMAIL ACTIVATION - CHECK YOUR SPAM FOLDER. ALWAYS TRY A SEARCH BEFORE STARTING A NEW TOPIC - Most questions you may have are already answered on the Forum, by FACT NOT OPINIONS. PLEASE DON'T BE A DRIVE-BY POSTER: As a common courtesy, check back if you are posting elsewhere on the web. Note there's decades of Guzzi hands-on experienced help on this site, all whom give endless amounts of their time for free - it should be common sense, but sadly needs to be stated; BE COURTEOUS! There is zero tolerance on personal attacks and off-site links to other Forums or competing products. Also be sure to click on the Store link also above for our 600+ product inventory, including many of our 100% Made-in-house-USA GTM products and engine kits. We appreciate the consideration, understanding and your business... past and future. Also be sure to see our GTMotoCycles.com custom BUILDS tab above.

Mode button won't work on 1200 sport

Discussion in 'Chat & Tech Info' started by Ebb johns, Aug 8, 2018.

  1. Ebb johns

    Ebb johns Just got it firing!

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2016
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    England
    Hi everyone,
    Can anyone help me out cos I'm baffled.
    Mode button on the front on the switch gear doesn't do anything when depressed,
    I'm trying to get in to the dash to look at the ECU# and DBC# , to try and find out why there's an oil can looking at me. ( but that'll be another thread )
    I was gonna change the clocks from my other sport but I can't enter any code # .
    Switch gear ???
    Or is there something secret somewhere ?
    Help !!!
    Thanks in advance
    Ebb
     
  2. john zibell

    john zibell Moderator Staff Member GT di Razza Pura

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2008
    Messages:
    7,687
    Likes Received:
    711
    Location:
    Huntsville, AL
    Could be the switch. Try to disassemble and use a good contact cleaner. Also clean the plug to the dash.
     
  3. kiwi dave

    kiwi dave GT Reference

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2008
    Messages:
    1,898
    Likes Received:
    276
    Location:
    Auckland, New Zealand
    Try disconnecting and reconnecting the large connector to the dashboard. While you have it disconnected, look for any crud on the pins. This usually works for me. In my experience it's never been the switch itself.
     
  4. Bisbonian

    Bisbonian Cruisin' Guzzisti

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2009
    Messages:
    303
    Likes Received:
    22
    Location:
    Tucson, AZ
    Are you sliding the slider on the one side of the left switch pod up to mode or whatever the correct position is other than the 2 trips?
     
  5. Android

    Android Cruisin' Guzzisti GT Famiglia

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2014
    Messages:
    153
    Likes Received:
    12
    Location:
    Frogham Hampshire. UK
    they are a sealed item I replaced mine with a "press to talk" type switch but its not water proof so its tucked in behind the instrument fairing.
    You just need a 2 terminal non latching switch, and from what I remember its hard wired into the loom so probably Moto Guzzi don't do a replacement unless its all the lefthand switch gear
     
  6. Android

    Android Cruisin' Guzzisti GT Famiglia

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2014
    Messages:
    153
    Likes Received:
    12
    Location:
    Frogham Hampshire. UK
    there is a 2008 1200 griso lefthand switch gear on ebay for £90 or my idea for £5 max
     
  7. Brian UK

    Brian UK GT Reference

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2008
    Messages:
    1,986
    Likes Received:
    177
    Location:
    Addlestone, Surrey, UK
    I'd soak it in contact cleaner first.
     
  8. Android

    Android Cruisin' Guzzisti GT Famiglia

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2014
    Messages:
    153
    Likes Received:
    12
    Location:
    Frogham Hampshire. UK
    or new from Fowlers Bristol for £132 in stock
     
  9. Ebb johns

    Ebb johns Just got it firing!

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2016
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    England
    Ok ,heres wot I did , got a really really small screwdriver and managed to get it in between the rubber cover of the switch, pumped it full of contact cleaner and left it over night followed by silicon spray and finally WD40.
    And slowing but surely it started coming back to life !
    I cleared all the codes and
    The oil light is still on,
    At least the clocks haven't pack up.
    Thanks for all the help.
    Going for the oil sensor next,
    Watch this space !!!!
    Ebb
     
  10. Brian UK

    Brian UK GT Reference

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2008
    Messages:
    1,986
    Likes Received:
    177
    Location:
    Addlestone, Surrey, UK
    Yes difficult choice, £132 for a new one or a spray of contact cleaner.

    Now go round all the switches and connectors you can find on the bike and use the rest of the can on them. It will pay in the long term.
     
    john zibell likes this.
  11. Android

    Android Cruisin' Guzzisti GT Famiglia

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2014
    Messages:
    153
    Likes Received:
    12
    Location:
    Frogham Hampshire. UK
    With the oil pressure sensor you'll need a 21mm open ended spanner, it's a really tight situation.
    I machined mine down , it helps. DSC_1292.JPG
     

Share This Page