Ridemalibu Motorcycle Rentals & Tours – Los Angeles CA
  1. Ciao Guest - You’ve landed at the ultimate Guzzi site. In SoCal? See the SERVICE tab above for the best in service, tires, tuning and installation of our products or custom work. NEW FORUM REGISTRATIONS REQUIRE EMAIL ACTIVATION - CHECK YOUR SPAM FOLDER. ALWAYS TRY A SEARCH BEFORE STARTING A NEW TOPIC - Most questions you may have are already answered on the Forum with FACTS, NOT OPINIONS. PLEASE DON'T BE A DRIVE-BY POSTER: As a common courtesy, check back if you are posting elsewhere on the web. Note there's decades of Guzzi hands-on experienced help on this site, all whom give endless amounts of their time for free; BE COURTEOUS AND RESPECTFUL! There is zero tolerance on personal attacks and off-site links to other Forums or competing products. Also be sure to click on the STORE link also above for our 600+ product inventory, including many of our 100% Made-in-house-USA GTM products and engine kits. We appreciate the consideration, understanding and your business... past and future. And if you haven't seen our MotoCycle (not) art, click on the BUILDS tab above to see our work at our sister business; GT MotoCycles®-- WE ARE ONLINE ONLY - NO PHONE CALLS MADE OR RECEIVED.

PC-V User Guide PDF - Install info

Discussion in 'GT-Rx® Fueling' started by GT-Rx®, Oct 1, 2009.

  1. beetle

    beetle Tuned and Synch'ed

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2011
    Messages:
    67
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Wagga

    Only speculating, but I would expect freaky data can be produced with a bad/intermittent supply or ground due to transient noise created by the connect/disconnect of the 12V or GND. Although, the CAN bus is supposed to work in noisy environments like this without issue. Hmmm.
     
  2. makarushka

    makarushka Cruisin' Guzzisti

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2011
    Messages:
    96
    Likes Received:
    12
    Location:
    Oakland
    Kiwi_dave,

    I can see you've checked the connections but this may be worth something: I had intermittent operation of the AutoTune when it would simply stop working just like you describe, and in my case it was the connector that plugs in from AutoTune into the PCV. It is supposed to click in but really did not and had to be in really tight to be working stable. I bent the tab so it would lock better but in addition to that zip-tied it tight to the AT unit and had no outage since. Could be worth a shot...

    As far as updating the software: good to have the latest version of the desktop but be sure not to upgrade the firmware in the PCV, even though there are several newer versions on the Dynojet website and the temptation is there...

    AutoTune gets completely bogus readings in certain areas, especially really small throttle openings under load; as such it can only be relied upon to build a map from scratch if you know which cells you can trust and which to leave the AT correction off... This also means there will still be areas on the grid where we'll still have no idea how to correct for optimal mixture without dyno work and appropriate experience. This is something that I personally did not fully understand when I made my purchase; was naively hoping for higher degree of plain plug'n'play experience :)

    This said, you could ask instructions from Todd to go from the baseline he provided to you originally to arrive to an even closer match. Essentially you'd be simulating a dyno run and pulling the map for him to modify for several iterations... In other words, still no replacement for a proper dyno run.
     
  3. stinga

    stinga Tuned and Synch'ed

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2011
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    Karridale Western Australia
    This might sound like a dumb question but it’s been a while since I installed Todd’s full fuel kit. After a little hiccup with the black and yellow wires coming loose in the Auto tune and not working all’s good now.
    So here’s my question ? You get map, Accept trims then send map. Well I’ve got map but the how do you accept the trims, is there an option to select or just viewing then sending map is all that is required.
    Thanks
     
  4. Robert Gibson

    Robert Gibson Cruisin' Guzzisti GT Contributor

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2016
    Messages:
    473
    Likes Received:
    334
    Location:
    Menorca, Spain

    This may help.
     
  5. GT-Rx®

    GT-Rx® Administrator Staff Member GT di Razza Pura

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2009
    Messages:
    11,389
    Likes Received:
    3,468
    Location:
    Malibu
    Do NOT Accept Trims, please just send me the map via email to have a look and tweak for you. I have this clearly stated as well in the Notes section of the map.
     
  6. stinga

    stinga Tuned and Synch'ed

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2011
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    Karridale Western Australia
    Cheers Todd
    Home from work so sending map now via email.
    I find this all a bit confusing having an auto tune system but all the areas that my bike runs like shit in eg between 2000 to 3500 rpm @ 0% to 15% throttle position and in the map and table they show big fat zeros "0" with consequently no trim adjustments.

    IMG_4668 (2).JPG IMG_4671.JPG
     

Share This Page