Ridemalibu Motorcycle Rentals & Tours – Los Angeles CA
  1. Ciao Guest - You’ve landed at the ultimate Guzzi site. In SoCal? See the SERVICE tab above for the best in service, tires, tuning and installation of our products or custom work. NEW FORUM REGISTRATIONS REQUIRE EMAIL ACTIVATION - CHECK YOUR SPAM FOLDER. ALWAYS TRY A SEARCH BEFORE STARTING A NEW TOPIC - Most questions you may have are already answered on the Forum with FACTS, NOT OPINIONS. PLEASE DON'T BE A DRIVE-BY POSTER: As a common courtesy, check back if you are posting elsewhere on the web. Note there's decades of Guzzi hands-on experienced help on this site, all whom give endless amounts of their time for free; BE COURTEOUS AND RESPECTFUL! There is zero tolerance on personal attacks and off-site links to other Forums or competing products. Also be sure to click on the Store link also above for our 600+ product inventory, including many of our 100% Made-in-house-USA GTM products and engine kits. We appreciate the consideration, understanding and your business... past and future. Also be sure to see our GTMotoCycles.com custom BUILDS tab above. WE ARE ONLINE ONLY - NO PHONE CALLS MADE OR RECEIVED.

V7 "Class 3" Error code list?

Discussion in 'V7/V85/V9 Reference Topics/Recalls' started by GT-Rx®, Feb 4, 2016.

  1. GT-Rx®

    GT-Rx® Administrator Staff Member GT di Razza Pura

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2009
    Messages:
    11,055
    Likes Received:
    3,241
    Location:
    Malibu
    Revised thread with original post by Mike Tyron below...
     
    scudracer likes this.
  2. Ducu

    Ducu Just got it firing!

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2016
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Bucharest, Romania
    Any news on that?
     
  3. Francisco Cabrera

    Francisco Cabrera Just got it firing!

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2016
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Chile
    Hello. I'm geting the same code on my 2015 v7 racer.
    Did you manage to fix it ?
     
  4. Moto_Max

    Moto_Max Cruisin' Guzzisti

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2016
    Messages:
    153
    Likes Received:
    42
    Location:
    Santa ANA, Ca
    put it on the charger and then see what it reads after its all charged up.
     
  5. NorthernProducer

    NorthernProducer Just got it firing!

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2015
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    10
    Location:
    Middle TN
    Not sure if this helps or not, but my wife's 2014 V7 had the Class 3 code displayed and after replacing the battery the code was no longer displayed. I know there is a code for a bad/dead battery, so it is a little confusing to see an unlisted code appear. The dealer had no explanation either. All is good now.
     
  6. Fogo Von Slack

    Fogo Von Slack Just got it firing!

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2017
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    London, UK
    I unfortunately let my battery go flat - leaving the bike unused in the garage. I recharged it Ok, but have had problems a couple of times now with error message "Class 2" being displayed (very quickly) on the instruments and the bike dying on me. I managed to fix it by fiddling with the battery terminals and retightening them and I suspect they just weren't tight enough when I put the battery back in. On the other hand, maybe it needs a new battery or maybe those accessories (SatNav, heated grips) are causing problems. I shall see how I go for now.
     
  7. scudracer

    scudracer Tuned and Synch'ed

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2013
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    16
    Location:
    Kuala Lumpur
    I am facing the exact same problem. Dead battery I guess?
     
  8. Mike Tryon

    Mike Tryon Eldorado FTW!

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2014
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    18
    Location:
    Washington
    Yes, upon replacing the battery every thing was great. I have heard that there are voltage regulator problems with the V7s. I sold mine two years ago and purchased an Eldorado! Love it, I do miss my V7 from time to time.
     
  9. Dinsdale Piranha

    Dinsdale Piranha Cruisin' Guzzisti GT Contributor

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2017
    Messages:
    373
    Likes Received:
    125
    Location:
    West Oz
    Replace your rec/reg with a MOSFET type model. You'll get around 25w extra for farkles and it'll put a steady 14. 4 to 14.6 v from idle to forever.
     
  10. GT-Rx®

    GT-Rx® Administrator Staff Member GT di Razza Pura

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2009
    Messages:
    11,055
    Likes Received:
    3,241
    Location:
    Malibu
    We had a V7 in the shop with a "Class 3" error when the key was turned on, even with a fully charged good battery. Turns out the soldier on the main power in the key switch assy base broke loose, pic below. Just a FYI.

    Class3Error-KeySw.jpg
     
    tonUPRacer likes this.
  11. f4b

    f4b Just got it firing!

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2018
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    11
    Location:
    Venice, CA
    Hi,
    My bike (V7) has no power when I swerved to the left.
    I found the welding were broken (please see picture attached).

    I have a couple of questions:
    - is the order of the colors the same for all the bikes? I.e. orange external?
    - the base looks very used, should I look for a new base to replace that one?

    Thank you!
    f4b

    IMG-20191010-WA0005.jpeg
     

Share This Page