RentAGuzzi Motorcycle Rentals & Tours – Los Angeles CA
  1. Ciao Guest - Welcome to the GT Forum. Posts here are to help with issues and questions related to your Guzzi & GT products - However, always use the Search feature first, as most topics have been well covered. Please see our store tab above; Off-site hyperlinks for competing products/companies will be deleted. Note we are still largely a one man operation; We are NOT Amazon, so do not expect that level of service. Orders can take a week or more to ship, and PLEASE refrain from using the Contact form here to ask about your order status OR questions best posted to the Forum. If you must reach out, reply on the actual order email with number. Refunds can take 5-45 days after processed in our system... we have no control over this. We cannot offer personal support to your questions, problems or issues unless related to a product you bought from us here. NO phone calls can be made - please do not ask. We are online ONLY. Thank you for your understanding and business, past and future. In SoCal? Visit GTMotocycles.com for all of your Service needs, or click the Service tab above.

USER CODE screw-up?

Discussion in 'New Gen Cali 1400 8V' started by roadventure, Jul 9, 2017.

Tags:
  1. roadventure

    roadventure High Miler GT Site Contributor!

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2014
    Messages:
    732
    Likes Received:
    102
    Location:
    Bel Air, Maryland
    Well, yesterday I was going to meet a group for a ride. I go out, put the key in the ignition of my 2014 California Custom and am faced with "Enter User Code". WTF!?!? I don't know nothin' about no user code! So, out of frustration and lack of time, I got on my Yamaha Raider and rode away to meet up with the group.

    Upon arriving back home again, I re-read the user manual which has very little helpful information about a user code except for changing it and for that you need to know..... (wait for it!). Yup, that's right, you need to know the user code. As I already stated, I don't know nothin' about no user code! I finally discovered that in the morning I had grabbed the spare key which is why I had the dash asking for a user code. After I got back home I used my original key and everything worked as normal. But, I could not leave well enough alone. Read on.

    So, after some reading here and some guessing, I surmised that the original user code had never been set. On advise from this forum I set it to the service code 34534. That seemed like a good idea. So, then I tried my spare key again and when faced with the "enter user code" prompt I entered 34534 and the bike started. But, I don't want to enter that code every time I need to use my spare key. I had read in the user manual that the instrument panel is able to activate keys. I figure, why not! I can program my spare key to work learn the user code so I won't need to enter the code with the spare key. What a great Idea!

    I proceed to start the bike using the spare key and then go to the MENU to change the user code for the spare key. I attempt this and then am faced with a "1" in the display and a counting number below it. WTF? What is this? I don't know so I shut off the ignition.

    Now I have the RED warning light triangle with the exclamation mark on. Why? What does this mean? What did I break?

    Also, I find that now, when I try to change the user code, I am not offered the choice to enter a new code.

    What is going on?
     
    MOLT likes this.
  2. john zibell

    john zibell Moderator Staff Member GT Founder!

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2008
    Messages:
    6,548
    Likes Received:
    319
    Location:
    Huntsville, AL
    If the 1400 is like others, the procedure you need to perform is the Modify Key procedure, not change user code for the spare. BTW, the spare should have been programmed at the factory or by the dealer.

    Function MODIFY KEYS

    This function can be used:
    1) in case of key loss, the dealer can cancel the lost key
    2) to activate up to 4 keys
    3) if necessary use a new key ignition lock and memorize a new set of keys.
    in the first phase it is requested to insert the user code and after giving confirmation that the key is memorized (1st key), it is
    requested to insert the other keys .
    The procedure ends after four keys are memorised or after 20 seconds
     
  3. roadventure

    roadventure High Miler GT Site Contributor!

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2014
    Messages:
    732
    Likes Received:
    102
    Location:
    Bel Air, Maryland
    Okay. I saw that in the user's manual. However, any idea on why I now have the red dash light illuminated?
     
  4. kiwi dave

    kiwi dave GT Reference

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2008
    Messages:
    1,356
    Likes Received:
    117
    Location:
    Auckland, New Zealand
    Are both keys working, everything normal except for the red dash light?
     
  5. roadventure

    roadventure High Miler GT Site Contributor!

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2014
    Messages:
    732
    Likes Received:
    102
    Location:
    Bel Air, Maryland
    The original key is still working. The second key is not and the user code is not accepted when it is tried. I have not ridden the bike so I am not sure if everything is 100% normal, but the red dash light is remaining on when I start the engine.
     
  6. john zibell

    john zibell Moderator Staff Member GT Founder!

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2008
    Messages:
    6,548
    Likes Received:
    319
    Location:
    Huntsville, AL
    Have you gone into diagnostics to check/clear any codes?
     
  7. kiwi dave

    kiwi dave GT Reference

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2008
    Messages:
    1,356
    Likes Received:
    117
    Location:
    Auckland, New Zealand
    John, the Cali 1400 doesn't have a "diagnostics" ability in the dashboard. It has a "SERVICE" area, which offers "RESET COUPON" (clear the spanner), "CHANGE KEYS", and "CODE RECOVERY".

    To clear the codes, you need a dealer with PADS, Guzzidiag, or TechnoResearch Centurion-E or perhaps a dedicated TR Alaris for an Aprilia RSV4 which also uses the Magneti Marelli IAW 7SM ECU.

    They're making it harder and harder for us.
     
    john zibell likes this.
  8. kiwi dave

    kiwi dave GT Reference

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2008
    Messages:
    1,356
    Likes Received:
    117
    Location:
    Auckland, New Zealand
    You changed the user code for the spare key. Now, it's waiting for you to insert the No. 1 key and probably indicating the time you have left to do this. Obviously, you cannot have two keys with different user codes married to the same ECU.

    Probably pointing out that you have attempted to use two keys with different user codes.

    This could be a tough one. Try the other key, and see if it will let you initiate the "CHANGE KEYS". Or select "CODE RECOVERY" which will ask for two keys and then ask for a new user code (from memory, I think this is how it works).

    Good luck, and let's know how you get on.
     
  9. roadventure

    roadventure High Miler GT Site Contributor!

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2014
    Messages:
    732
    Likes Received:
    102
    Location:
    Bel Air, Maryland
    No, I don't know how to do this...
     
  10. roadventure

    roadventure High Miler GT Site Contributor!

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2014
    Messages:
    732
    Likes Received:
    102
    Location:
    Bel Air, Maryland
    Thanks Dave. I won't bother looking for a diagnostics screen. You know, if more and more stuff is going to require dealer intervention I sure do wish dealers were a bit more accessible. Here in the U.S. I am happy to say that I am never more than 500 miles from my nearest Moto Guzzi dealer. :(
     
  11. roadventure

    roadventure High Miler GT Site Contributor!

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2014
    Messages:
    732
    Likes Received:
    102
    Location:
    Bel Air, Maryland
    Dave,

    Thanks for the input. I'll give your suggestions a try when I get home from work today.
     
  12. John L

    John L Cruisin' Guzzisti GT Contributor

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2015
    Messages:
    124
    Likes Received:
    38
    Location:
    South Australia
    Dave, it's a long shot but the dealer I got my bike from uses the last 5 numbers in the vin code on the head stock to programme the keys, may be worth a try. Now I will either have to change it or kill you all.
    John.
     
  13. roadventure

    roadventure High Miler GT Site Contributor!

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2014
    Messages:
    732
    Likes Received:
    102
    Location:
    Bel Air, Maryland
    John,

    My biker never had a user code. I put one in and that is where my problems started. It is my fault that I got things mixed up. I am going to contact my nearest dealer tomorrow to see what they can do to help.
     
  14. roadventure

    roadventure High Miler GT Site Contributor!

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2014
    Messages:
    732
    Likes Received:
    102
    Location:
    Bel Air, Maryland
    Just a follow-up on what is going on here...

    I contacted Europa Machinna and made an appointment for them to attach their MG PADS to my California and get my user code snafu straightened out. I am hoping to leave them with both keys able to start the bike without the user code entry and to have the user code input to the number of my choice. Wish me luck! :)
     
  15. FrankZ

    FrankZ Just got it firing! GT Site Contributor!

    Joined:
    May 16, 2017
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    10
    Location:
    Pittsburgh
    I caused the same red triangle issue on my Eldorado. I had a key issue when I purchased the bike (too long of a story to give all of the details), in which I only had one working key and a second physically damaged key. the dealer sent me two new blank keys, which I had cut by a local locksmith. After finding the service code on this site, I decided to try programming the keys. Through trial and error, I realized that when you program a new key, you have to program all of the keys you have, as I believe the programming procedure generates a new identifying code whenever it is performed. This means that your original working key is no longer compatible if you did not program it along with the new key. I believe the red triangle comes on to alert you that you only have one key programmed, and no spare. Try going into the service menu again, and perform the change keys procedure on every key in your possession, up to four keys. After you have at least two working, programmed keys, I'm pretty sure the red triangle will stay off.
     
  16. roadventure

    roadventure High Miler GT Site Contributor!

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2014
    Messages:
    732
    Likes Received:
    102
    Location:
    Bel Air, Maryland
    FrankZ,

    Been there, done that. And that is how I got into this mess. I am going to get my "local" dealer to straighten it out with their MG PADS diagnostic rather than getting in any deeper.
     
  17. roadventure

    roadventure High Miler GT Site Contributor!

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2014
    Messages:
    732
    Likes Received:
    102
    Location:
    Bel Air, Maryland
    Well, I am sad to say that after traveling 80 miles one-way to my nearest dealer and paying about two hours labor it has been determined that the dash on the MG California can't be accessed by PADS and also there is no known method in this world to reset the dash to default settings that every new California comes with from MG. I am being told that there are no codes to be read from the ECU and that the cash can't be accessed due to the red warning light being on. I am not sure I am buying this story but it is the best one I have for now.
     
  18. Raven

    Raven Tuned and Synch'ed

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2017
    Messages:
    58
    Likes Received:
    13
    Location:
    Lac Ste. Marie, Qc
    That sounds like a load of BS from a bunch that don't know what they're doing. It's sad when the staff of an authorized dealer are so uninformed about a product they are paid to take care of. I think more training courses are in order.
     
  19. kiwi dave

    kiwi dave GT Reference

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2008
    Messages:
    1,356
    Likes Received:
    117
    Location:
    Auckland, New Zealand
    This would be a damn good reason to stay away from this incompetent dealer.

    Of course PADS can access the ECU, and before the service code was discovered it was the only way to reset the spanner icon.

    I suggest you now relearn your keys without the help of PADS. You were on the right track some time ago, but didn't present the second key. If you go into "MENU", "SERVICE", enter the service code, and then select "CODE RECOVERY". It will ask you to insert your two keys, and then offer the chance to change the user code. Since your keys had different codes assigned to them, this is your chance to make amends.

    Good luck.
     
  20. John L

    John L Cruisin' Guzzisti GT Contributor

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2015
    Messages:
    124
    Likes Received:
    38
    Location:
    South Australia
    Dave, don't know if this is any help but from the AF1 racing site, all bikes come from the factory with the user code set to 00000, so if your bike has never been re-coded it should be 00000.







    .
     

Share This Page