Ridemalibu Motorcycle Rentals & Tours – Los Angeles CA
  1. Ciao Guest - You’ve landed at the ultimate Guzzi site. In SoCal? See the SERVICE tab above for the best in service, tires, tuning and installation of our products or custom work. NEW FORUM REGISTRATIONS REQUIRE EMAIL ACTIVATION - CHECK YOUR SPAM FOLDER - Use the CONTACT above if we can be of help. ALWAYS TRY A SEARCH BEFORE STARTING A NEW TOPIC - Most questions you may have are already answered on the Forum with FACTS, NOT OPINIONS. PLEASE DON'T BE A DRIVE-BY POSTER: As a common courtesy, check back if you are posting elsewhere on the web. Note there's decades of Guzzi hands-on experienced help on this site, all whom give endless amounts of their time for free; BE COURTEOUS AND RESPECTFUL! Also be sure to click on the STORE link also above for our 600+ product inventory, including many of our 100% Made-in-house-USA GTM products and engine kits. We appreciate the consideration, understanding and your business... past and future. And if you haven't seen our MotoCycle (not) art, click on the BUILDS tab above to see our work at our sister business; GT MotoCycles® -- WE ARE ONLINE ONLY - NO PHONE CALLS MADE OR RECEIVED.
  2. There is ZERO tolerance on personal attacks and ANY HYPERLINKS to a PRODUCT or other competing website(s), this includes personal pages, social media or other Forums. We work very hard to keep info relevant here. First offense is a note, second is a warning, third time will get you banned from the site. Sorry to have to do this, but we don't have the time to chase repeat (and ignorant) offenders. This is NOT a social media platform; It's an ad-free, privately funded website, in small help with user donations. Be sure to see our online STORE link above; GTM product purchases help support the site, or you can upgrade your Forum profile or DONATE via the link above.

GTM ECU V7 & V9 Flash Tool

Discussion in 'V7/V85/V9 Chat & Tech' started by GTM®, Jul 31, 2015.

  1. GTM®

    GTM® Administrator Staff Member GT di Razza Pura

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2009
    Messages:
    12,308
    Likes Received:
    4,507
    Location:
    Malibu
    You could, unless there is a time and cost associated, as I can load the tool with the latest map for you as well. If you do get the latest map, it will store to the tool when you plug in and read it.
     
    scudracer and BenRCMC like this.
  2. Joe Kletch

    Joe Kletch Tuned and Synch'ed GT Contributor

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2014
    Messages:
    45
    Likes Received:
    13
    Location:
    Milwaukee, WI
    It is time and money and I am hoping to not use the dealer if I can. While I didn't catch it right away they only did an oil change for the 1st 600 mile service -- looking at the factory service intervals they were to do much more including a valve adjustment. Lost my faith in them.
     
  3. GTM®

    GTM® Administrator Staff Member GT di Razza Pura

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2009
    Messages:
    12,308
    Likes Received:
    4,507
    Location:
    Malibu
    Yes, head re-torque is critical with valve lash re-adjust, along with the complete PDI list.
     
    scudracer likes this.
  4. Joe Kletch

    Joe Kletch Tuned and Synch'ed GT Contributor

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2014
    Messages:
    45
    Likes Received:
    13
    Location:
    Milwaukee, WI
    Who'd a thought a shop that services Ferrari's can't service do proper service on a Motorcycle. Thanks Todd. I'll try to get this on order tomorrow.
     
    scudracer likes this.
  5. jprodun

    jprodun Just got it firing!

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2014
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    11
    So, just to make it clear for me, If I buy it, I will not be able to use it on anything else except for the bike I currently own? Not even if I buy a V7II in a couple years? Or any bike with the same ECU model for that matter?

    Thanks
     
  6. GTM®

    GTM® Administrator Staff Member GT di Razza Pura

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2009
    Messages:
    12,308
    Likes Received:
    4,507
    Location:
    Malibu
    That is correct. The unit is programmed to connect only with one ECU. I would offer a decent discount to repeat customers.
     
    scudracer likes this.
  7. jprodun

    jprodun Just got it firing!

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2014
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    11
    Thanks Todd!

    I was planning on sending my ECU sooner or later anyways, but now, with not a significant difference in price, I might as well just a buy the flash tool unit... Especially if I plan on playing with the bike in the future.
     
    Last edited: Mar 30, 2016
    BenRCMC likes this.
  8. Bob Ponticelli

    Bob Ponticelli Cruisin' Guzzisti GT Contributor

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2015
    Messages:
    188
    Likes Received:
    105
    Location:
    Tampa FL 33602
    I just finished the flash with this tool during lunch. I did this in 2-steps. Yesterday I backed up the original and today I loaded the modified file Todd provided.

    I installed a set of Mistral slip-ons. Nothing else (header, crossover, etc). The bike actually ran okay with the change-over. Not really that different from stock and I almost didn't consider buying this flash tool. There was a faint pop on decel but really nothing at all after I installed the Mistrals. I did a similar Mistral swap on my old V11 sport and didn't re-flash that bike and ran in a similar fashion. For the cost of the Mistrals, even without a flash I would say it made sense for me if for nothing other than aesthetic/cleaner/lighter for anyone considering

    The Mrs gave me an early BDay gift and told me to get this so I can play. I will say the bike feels much smoother and maybe a tad more responsive on the throttle (I didn't say faster.....Todd, it isn't faster is it? :>). Just all and all seems smoother and runs better. Many thx Todd and very happy with the results although I haven't really taken it out yet for a long ride.

    Note: You do need to leave the "key on" to back up the file and install the new. The back-up to ~15 minutes and the load was half that. Make sure you have a good battery charge before you begin.
     
  9. GTM®

    GTM® Administrator Staff Member GT di Razza Pura

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2009
    Messages:
    12,308
    Likes Received:
    4,507
    Location:
    Malibu
    Thanks Bob. More efficient fuel burn and cooling almost always results in more power, but power gains are subject to intake and exhaust flow revisions. Fueling/AFR ratios, timing and air temp tables are the focus for better cold start, cooler running and impressive throttle response and smoothness.
     
    scudracer likes this.
  10. Clayton Sietsema

    Clayton Sietsema Cruisin' Guzzisti

    Joined:
    May 20, 2015
    Messages:
    200
    Likes Received:
    37
    Location:
    Earlsboro Oklahoma
    I will second what bob says, a full battery is very important before you start. The backup process took 25 and download took 40 minutes on my griso. Only about 5 minutes both ways on the Cali.
     
  11. drlapo

    drlapo Tuned and Synch'ed

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2014
    Messages:
    40
    Likes Received:
    7
    I'm putting some$ away for the unit but this month the gubment wants, and will get, my tax dollars
     
  12. Moto_Max

    Moto_Max Cruisin' Guzzisti

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2016
    Messages:
    153
    Likes Received:
    42
    Location:
    Santa ANA, Ca
    Hey Todd, I have Mistral CF mufflers on my bike and there's a real lag in power and acceleration now. Is there a reflash that can be done? I just spoke to the Guzzi rep from Piaggio while he was in my store and he told me there is nothing that can be done for the 2016's. I didn't like that answer and that's why I'm asking here.
     
  13. GTM®

    GTM® Administrator Staff Member GT di Razza Pura

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2009
    Messages:
    12,308
    Likes Received:
    4,507
    Location:
    Malibu
    I've done many 2016 V7 II's, from stock to similar mods as yours, and I've also done several '16 820cc big bores and my RentAGuzzi '16 Racer 820cc with 4V heads... so yep, sure can. My flash tool at the head of this thread will do it, or contact me direct email; Info at GuzziTech.com
     
  14. MasterKraus

    MasterKraus Just got it firing! GT Contributor

    Joined:
    May 5, 2015
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Philadelphia, PA
    Hey All, I just purchased Todd's V7 Exhaust and ECU tool. Looking for a bit of instruction from someone who has done this before.

    I see that I have a pos & neg set of clamps presumably to power the device when plugged into the bike. In addition I have the 16-pin to 3-pin connector that goes from the device to the bike. Is there a particular order in which this must be done? Do I power the device first and then plug it in, does the ignition need to be on, where do I plug into the bike - is it at one of the O2 sensor cables or elsewhere?

    Much appreciated.

    -Chris
     
  15. Bob Ponticelli

    Bob Ponticelli Cruisin' Guzzisti GT Contributor

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2015
    Messages:
    188
    Likes Received:
    105
    Location:
    Tampa FL 33602
    FWIW-I did this in the past 2 weeks. I plugged the power clips first then the ECU. Not sure if this was proper but did successfully load my new map. The key does need to be on to read the map. My bike took a good 20 minutes. The load of the new map was 7-8 minutes.

    Hope this helps a little.
     
    Moto_Max and MasterKraus like this.
  16. MasterKraus

    MasterKraus Just got it firing! GT Contributor

    Joined:
    May 5, 2015
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Philadelphia, PA
    Perfect, just got it all sorted and the file sent to Todd. Thanks!

    -Chris
     
    BenRCMC likes this.
  17. Greg from the Shire

    Greg from the Shire Just got it firing!

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2016
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    Did the reflash this morning on my factory stock V7II special. Everything went well, and just as others mentioned before, it became a completely different (much better) bike.
    Only one add, when first start the software on the PC, run it as administrator. Otherwise during the update process it stops working. It took me half an hour to figure out what the problem was.
     
    hody166 and BenRCMC like this.
  18. jprodun

    jprodun Just got it firing!

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2014
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    11
    Hey all,

    Got my tool and saved the stock map yesterday.

    Today, plugging it in my PC and it doesn't show. Meaning i get the sound that it's plugged in, but the device is nowhere to be found on the PC...

    Thanks
     
  19. jprodun

    jprodun Just got it firing!

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2014
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    11
    To answer my own question and to share with everyone else, the problem is that I need an older computer... Apparently the new 3.0 type usb ports would not work with the older 2.0 type the tool is using...
     
    hody166 likes this.
  20. jprodun

    jprodun Just got it firing!

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2014
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    11
    None of the computers I've connected it to have recognized it so far. Neither new or oldish... Am I doing something wrong? Connected it to a computer via USB port, shows that it's connected, but stays in Unspecified category under Devices and Printers. No options to activate it or such. Just stays there.

    Thanks
     

Share This Page