Ridemalibu Motorcycle Rentals & Tours – Los Angeles CA
  1. Ciao Guest - You’ve landed at the ultimate Guzzi site. In SoCal? See the SERVICE tab above for the best in service, tires, tuning and installation of our products or custom work. NEW FORUM REGISTRATIONS REQUIRE EMAIL ACTIVATION - CHECK YOUR SPAM FOLDER - Use the CONTACT above if we can be of help. ALWAYS TRY A SEARCH BEFORE STARTING A NEW TOPIC - Most questions you may have are already answered on the Forum with FACTS, NOT OPINIONS. PLEASE DON'T BE A DRIVE-BY POSTER: As a common courtesy, check back if you are posting elsewhere on the web. Note there's decades of Guzzi hands-on experienced help on this site, all whom give endless amounts of their time for free; BE COURTEOUS AND RESPECTFUL! Also be sure to click on the STORE link also above for our 600+ product inventory, including many of our 100% Made-in-house-USA GTM products and engine kits. We appreciate the consideration, understanding and your business... past and future. And if you haven't seen our MotoCycle (not) art, click on the BUILDS tab above to see our work at our sister business; GT MotoCycles® -- WE ARE ONLINE ONLY - NO PHONE CALLS MADE OR RECEIVED.
  2. There is ZERO tolerance on personal attacks and ANY HYPERLINKS to a PRODUCT or other competing website(s), this includes personal pages, social media or other Forums. We work very hard to keep info relevant here. First offense is a note, second is a warning, third time will get you banned from the site. Sorry to have to do this, but we don't have the time to chase repeat (and ignorant) offenders. This is NOT a social media platform; It's an ad-free, privately funded website, in small help with user donations. Be sure to see our online STORE link above; GTM product purchases help support the site, or you can upgrade your Forum profile or DONATE via the link above.

GTM ECU V7 & V9 Flash Tool

Discussion in 'V7/V85/V9 Chat & Tech' started by GTM®, Jul 31, 2015.

  1. jwtucker

    jwtucker V11 Sport 4 Life

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2011
    Messages:
    118
    Likes Received:
    103
    Location:
    Philadelephia
    You're disregarding the fact that there are other diag tools out there which are freely distributed, so "selling units" isn't really a motivation for them. None of them have figured out how to unlock the maint reset yet. Not saying it's impossible, but the factory has deliberately made this difficult so that there is a reason to force customers to visit the dealers. I don't like it, but it is what it is.

    I also would not be surprised if at some point, they did start encrypting the entire map on new ECUs.

    This is just the latest evolution of the game of cat-n-mouse. Guzzi ECUs used to be "protected" by a sticker placed over a screw. Then, to make things more difficult, they moved from swappable PROM chips to soldered-on chips. The "unresettable" reset is just the latest trick. It probably will be circumvented eventually, but then what's next...

    __Jason
     
    Wildroamer likes this.
  2. DeadEye

    DeadEye High Miler GT di Razza Pura

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2020
    Messages:
    999
    Likes Received:
    540
    Location:
    Eastern Ontario - Western Quebec
    Indeed the Free Software Foundation community is HUGE and some of those people are Incredibly talented and do the work for the Fun of it.
    But someone still needs the motivation to actually do it - we need a REAL geek Biker !
    or a Real Biker with a Geek friend :) ( and Beer and/or Pizza )
     
    Wildroamer likes this.
  3. Larry Vance

    Larry Vance Tuned and Synch'ed GT Contributor

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2014
    Messages:
    97
    Likes Received:
    7
    Location:
    Connecticut
    Just updated my 13 Special with the GTM Reflash tool. Follow the instructions and it 1 2 3 and done. Just had time for a quick ride and the difference was impressive. I can feel the increase in power and see that the engine revs much easier. The monster is loose!
     
    GTM® likes this.
  4. GTM®

    GTM® Administrator Staff Member GT di Razza Pura

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2009
    Messages:
    12,308
    Likes Received:
    4,507
    Location:
    Malibu
    They do on the 1400 and V85TT.
     
  5. jwtucker

    jwtucker V11 Sport 4 Life

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2011
    Messages:
    118
    Likes Received:
    103
    Location:
    Philadelephia
    I would expect that this will be par for the course on any "new" models they introduce from here on out.

    Meanwhile...

    I just applied the GTM ECU flash to my wife's V7III yesterday. This was done immediately after the first service, so I don't have a great feel for the power difference, due to the fact that we haven't been thrashing the bike during the break-in period. HOWEVER, the big difference that I noticed (and was hoping for) is much smoother throttle response, which was particularly jerky at low speed / low RPM (read: parking lot, or traffic jam speeds). Overall, quite happy with it. With the Agostini exhaust, SAS elimination, and now ECU flash, it feels like a different bike.

    __Jason
     
    Mayakovski and GTM® like this.
  6. DeadEye

    DeadEye High Miler GT di Razza Pura

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2020
    Messages:
    999
    Likes Received:
    540
    Location:
    Eastern Ontario - Western Quebec
    Is it a different ECU, or the new version of the same one ?
     
  7. Wildroamer

    Wildroamer Tuned and Synch'ed

    Joined:
    May 9, 2020
    Messages:
    74
    Likes Received:
    49
    Location:
    New England
    To be fair, this reset is not in the included instructions. I never saw it either. I'm still not sure if it's meant to be done every time you go from stock to gtm map, or if it should be done prior or following the reflash.
     
  8. GTM®

    GTM® Administrator Staff Member GT di Razza Pura

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2009
    Messages:
    12,308
    Likes Received:
    4,507
    Location:
    Malibu
    The note below is sent with every revised map, and is talked about in the video. I recommend doing it a few times/year, or at every service at a minimum.
    Upload the attached file back to the Flash Tool, and use the mod file to flash the ECU. Once done, be sure to run the Throttle Position command under the Diagnosis > My Bike tab. This is mandatory for it to work correctly. As a reminder, keep the battery on a charger.
     
  9. jwtucker

    jwtucker V11 Sport 4 Life

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2011
    Messages:
    118
    Likes Received:
    103
    Location:
    Philadelephia
    Link was in the email when the flash tool was purchased, along with the instruction manual.
    Note that in the video, the TPS reset seems to be done automatically. For my bike, I had to go into the menu and trigger the TPS reset myself.

    __Jason
     
    Mayakovski likes this.
  10. Mayakovski

    Mayakovski High Miler GT Famiglia

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2017
    Messages:
    759
    Likes Received:
    357
    Location:
    Comox, BC, CANADA
    Thanks Jason, I did not get a link to the video, but I did get the manual and the note to run the throttle reset with my email.
     
    Wildroamer likes this.
  11. GTM®

    GTM® Administrator Staff Member GT di Razza Pura

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2009
    Messages:
    12,308
    Likes Received:
    4,507
    Location:
    Malibu
    The link to the video is on the email that was sent with the PDF and the program download. Is it that people just aren't reading the short paragraph or what?
    That video is for the 1400. I am putting one together for the V7. Slightly different.
    Also, I do not want the video live to everyone. I have removed it from the above post.
     
  12. Wildroamer

    Wildroamer Tuned and Synch'ed

    Joined:
    May 9, 2020
    Messages:
    74
    Likes Received:
    49
    Location:
    New England
    I actually didn't get the email at first until contacting you, you may remember. Maybe that email you then sent to me was not your standard email, as there was no video. No worries, I know how to use it well enough now, I guess. And did see the bit about the throttle reset.
     
  13. subin

    subin Tuned and Synch'ed GT Famiglia

    Joined:
    May 7, 2020
    Messages:
    60
    Likes Received:
    48
    Location:
    SoCal
    Just installed the software and read the stock ECU using the flash tool.

    With Windows 10 pro 64-bit, ransomware protection enabled (no other firewall or anti-virus), the software installed without any issue. It did asked to install .Net framework, though. the .Net framework is a common Microsoft software that some computer hardware/software use, so if the GTM-PWG software did not ask you do install it, then it is likely that you already have it installed.

    After connecting the Flash Tool to the PC and ran the GTM-PWG for the first time, both the software and the tool's firmware (Fw) were updated to newer version.

    Reading the stock ECU file with the Flash Tool was easy and without issue. It took about 5 minutes.
    When downloading the file using the GTM-PWG software from the Flash Tool to the Windows 10, when you save the file to the computer's "Documents" folder (default location), Windows Security prompted that it blocked the GTM-PWG to access this folder (it is possible that I have this folder set as "protected"), so I simply clicked on the Windows notice, went to the Windows Security settings and allow GTM-PWG to access the folder.

    I then sent the original file to Todd and he email me back a file.
    Uploading the file back to the flash tool also went without issue, just follow the instruction video Todd sent you. Since my V7 III is currently stock, so Todd sent me the GTMv1 map file. After connecting the flash tool back to the bike, I noticed that there are three maps available. the original, GTMv1 (for bike in stock condition), and GTMv2 (Todd preloaded the GTMv2 map to the flash tool. This is the map for K&N air filter and aftermarket muffler (GTM GP Meg) without the db killer installed).

    [Update]
    I just did the ECU flash to GTMV2 with TPS reset, SAS blocked, EVAP canister removed, K&N filter and Zard zuma slip-ons with baffles. Keep in mind that the V7 III ran fine in stock condition and I had no starting issue cold/warm and no surging when cruising.

    Before all these, the tracking control was at 1, but after the flash, it was changed to 2 (??) So, the traction control would kick in (warning light ON) and cut off the acceleration at high RPM (I'd guess close to 6k RPM). Setting back to 1 fixed this.

    The additional power is noticeable when you keep the RPM up at the meaty range. There is a hill near me when the V7 III was in stock, I could only get 80 mph max, but with all the changes above, I could go pass 90 with room for more.

    The only issue I have is occasional decel pops. I will put more miles on it and report back to Todd directly.
     
    Last edited: Jul 25, 2021
    Brian Vandenbergh and Mayakovski like this.
  14. scottmastrocinque

    scottmastrocinque Scott Mastrocinque GT Famiglia

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2011
    Messages:
    1,452
    Likes Received:
    1,158
    Location:
    Findlay, Ohio
    You are chasing something that does not exist.

    Air pressure at 600 feet is 99.1 kPa and at 2000 feet is 94.2 kPa.

    The difference is insignificant and the motorcycle will run the same both places.

    Do yourself a HUGE favor. What you really want is RIDEABILITY.

    So, just let Todd tell you what you really NEED and then buy it and put it in.

    He’ll get you running the very best it ever will and you can stop worrying about stuff that does not matter.
     
  15. Raven

    Raven High Miler GT Famiglia

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2017
    Messages:
    722
    Likes Received:
    410
    Location:
    Lac Ste. Marie, Qc
    #3 yes you can switch back and forth as often as you like but you won't want to once you ride with the new MAP.
     
  16. GTM®

    GTM® Administrator Staff Member GT di Razza Pura

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2009
    Messages:
    12,308
    Likes Received:
    4,507
    Location:
    Malibu
    Thanks Scott and Raven.
    Congrats and welcome Brian. People often get things in their head that take them down a rabbit hole. The bike is a global bike, and the system is designed to handle elevation changes as delivered; We’re far beyond carburetors in 2020(!). Fueling is restricted for emissions as delivered. Thankfully there’s a fix... Happy to be of help. Read the reviews on the purchase page and this thread. Also, hope you’ll add your info to the Registry.
     
    Brian Vandenbergh likes this.
  17. Wildroamer

    Wildroamer Tuned and Synch'ed

    Joined:
    May 9, 2020
    Messages:
    74
    Likes Received:
    49
    Location:
    New England
    Pretty sure that for Question # 2, YES you should flash back to stock before bringing it to the dealer for service. I may be mistaken, but better safe than sorry.
    Oh, and you'll quickly find out who to ignore around here, lol, but Todd's reflash is the real deal!
     
    Brian Vandenbergh likes this.
  18. Brian Vandenbergh

    Brian Vandenbergh Finally a Guzzi in the Garage GT di Razza Pura

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2020
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    10
    Location:
    Tennessee
    Thanks for the info
     
    Last edited: Oct 26, 2020
  19. Brian Vandenbergh

    Brian Vandenbergh Finally a Guzzi in the Garage GT di Razza Pura

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2020
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    10
    Location:
    Tennessee
    Thank you for the Info ! I think you are right, I will put it back to factory when I take it in.
     
    Wildroamer likes this.
  20. Brian Vandenbergh

    Brian Vandenbergh Finally a Guzzi in the Garage GT di Razza Pura

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2020
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    10
    Location:
    Tennessee
    Great Point on safety. ! Antilock brakes are a feature Thats just an intelligent decision to use. without a doubt ! You are correct, it doesn’t stifle the motor. Getting older reflexes slow. I am turning them on for good ! thank you for the sound advice !
     
    Last edited: Oct 31, 2020
    Wildroamer and scottmastrocinque like this.

Share This Page