Ridemalibu Motorcycle Rentals & Tours – Los Angeles CA
  1. Ciao Guest - You’ve landed at the ultimate Guzzi site. In SoCal? See the SERVICE tab above for the best in service, tires, tuning and installation of our products or custom work. NEW FORUM REGISTRATIONS REQUIRE EMAIL ACTIVATION - CHECK YOUR SPAM FOLDER. ALWAYS TRY A SEARCH BEFORE STARTING A NEW TOPIC - Most questions you may have are already answered on the Forum with FACTS, NOT OPINIONS. PLEASE DON'T BE A DRIVE-BY POSTER: As a common courtesy, check back if you are posting elsewhere on the web. Note there's decades of Guzzi hands-on experienced help on this site, all whom give endless amounts of their time for free; BE COURTEOUS AND RESPECTFUL! There is zero tolerance on personal attacks and off-site links to other Forums or competing products. Also be sure to click on the STORE link also above for our 600+ product inventory, including many of our 100% Made-in-house-USA GTM products and engine kits. We appreciate the consideration, understanding and your business... past and future. And if you haven't seen our MotoCycle (not) art, click on the BUILDS tab above to see our work at our sister business; GT MotoCycles® -- WE ARE ONLINE ONLY - NO PHONE CALLS MADE OR RECEIVED.

GTM ECU V7 & V9 Flash Tool

Discussion in 'V7/V85/V9 Chat & Tech' started by GTM®, Jul 31, 2015.

  1. GTM®

    GTM® Administrator Staff Member GT di Razza Pura

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2009
    Messages:
    11,592
    Likes Received:
    3,721
    Location:
    Malibu
    I know no one wants to read literally anything anymore - :wondering: - but the mandatory throttle position reset is covered in both the PDF and the email reply with the map return.
     
    Mayakovski likes this.
  2. DeadEye

    DeadEye High Miler

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2020
    Messages:
    523
    Likes Received:
    260
    Location:
    Eastern Ontario - Western Quebec
    - I read it multiple times and tried searching for the words -
    mandatory throttle position reset
    and they are not in this document ?
    DOH !
    That's were it was, in your Email !
    ( I knew I saw it someplace. )

    Ok - all set for a spin tommorow, no need to wake up the neighbors tonight.
     
    Last edited: Sep 21, 2020
    Mayakovski likes this.
  3. DeadEye

    DeadEye High Miler

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2020
    Messages:
    523
    Likes Received:
    260
    Location:
    Eastern Ontario - Western Quebec
    A few short rides today, more responsive throttle inputs, and up shifting Is sort of odd,( ok maybe not odd but different)
    When I shift from 2 nd -> 3rd ( 3-4 / 4-5 ) I’m almost back at the same rpm after the shift, like i was still accelerating during the shift.
    Vs before it was dropping 500 - 700 rpm between shifts ( I don’t know the real values as I don’t have a tach :think:) and taking a few moments to get back to the same revs...
    Now it just Goes !

    I still plan to try and record the sound, high tech - phone in my pocket maybe ??
     
    Last edited: Sep 22, 2020
    Wildroamer and Mayakovski like this.
  4. aproud1

    aproud1 Tuned and Synch'ed GT Contributor

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2019
    Messages:
    65
    Likes Received:
    66
    Location:
    Cincy, OH

    After all of my mods and my last reflash it feels like my gears are a little taller. Just a little more room and flexibility in each gear I couldn't seem to access before. That along with the smoother shifting as everything breaks in really gives the bike a different feel.

    I looked at other map options. I went with Todd's because:
    1. It comes complete
    2. Todd seems to have gone through all the trial and error
    3. I get to think and worry less and ride more
    Plus, once you do it once you realize how incredibly easy it is. I've read through other flash setups and it seems like there is much more room for error. I'm pleased with it. Well worth the money.
     
    Mayakovski and GTM® like this.
  5. DeadEye

    DeadEye High Miler

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2020
    Messages:
    523
    Likes Received:
    260
    Location:
    Eastern Ontario - Western Quebec
    Indeed - it seems to rev more freely now,

    I changed the shift light setting to 6k from default because i kept blowing past it by 10 -15k/h.
    I’ve hit the rev limiter twice, because it just wants to keep going, and the sound of the pipes doesn’t do Anything to discourage me from winding it out ! :clap:

    The only thing the flash tool need’s ( and this is beyond GTech’s control) is the maintenance reminder reset.
    It’s “lit” on mine now, but it almost invisible , a perk of getting older is that I can hardly notice it :wasntme:
     
    Last edited: Sep 22, 2020
  6. DeadEye

    DeadEye High Miler

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2020
    Messages:
    523
    Likes Received:
    260
    Location:
    Eastern Ontario - Western Quebec
    With most Software things -can *you / We * submit an Enhancements request to have the functionality of resetting the Maintenance Notification added in some future release ?

    They might look into it when they have time and resources.
    The more requests they get the higher it moves up on the scale of customer requests.
    ( at least that's how it worked with some of the places I've worked)
     
    aproud1 likes this.
  7. jwtucker

    jwtucker V11 Sport 4 Life

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2011
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    36
    Location:
    Philadelephia
    Its not that simple. Piaggio has the reset feature "locked" so that only the official tool used by dealers is capable of doing the reset. I have no doubt that if the 3rd party ECU tuners could figure out how to crack that code, they would have done it already.

    __Jason
     
  8. DeadEye

    DeadEye High Miler

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2020
    Messages:
    523
    Likes Received:
    260
    Location:
    Eastern Ontario - Western Quebec
    You can do anything in software - some of it just takes more time - If they wanted to they could have Encrypted the images / Maps that we get updated, that might have made more sense.
    I doubt they would bother *locking out * the Maintenance reset feature and leave the rest of the OS open ... BUT you never can tell.

    The biggest obstacle is - Is it worth the Effort... Will It sell more units.
    ( Sorry - but adding something for Free to existing customers - is not *usually* #1 on the list.)
     
    Wildroamer and Mayakovski like this.
  9. jwtucker

    jwtucker V11 Sport 4 Life

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2011
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    36
    Location:
    Philadelephia
    You're disregarding the fact that there are other diag tools out there which are freely distributed, so "selling units" isn't really a motivation for them. None of them have figured out how to unlock the maint reset yet. Not saying it's impossible, but the factory has deliberately made this difficult so that there is a reason to force customers to visit the dealers. I don't like it, but it is what it is.

    I also would not be surprised if at some point, they did start encrypting the entire map on new ECUs.

    This is just the latest evolution of the game of cat-n-mouse. Guzzi ECUs used to be "protected" by a sticker placed over a screw. Then, to make things more difficult, they moved from swappable PROM chips to soldered-on chips. The "unresettable" reset is just the latest trick. It probably will be circumvented eventually, but then what's next...

    __Jason
     
    Wildroamer likes this.
  10. DeadEye

    DeadEye High Miler

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2020
    Messages:
    523
    Likes Received:
    260
    Location:
    Eastern Ontario - Western Quebec
    Indeed the Free Software Foundation community is HUGE and some of those people are Incredibly talented and do the work for the Fun of it.
    But someone still needs the motivation to actually do it - we need a REAL geek Biker !
    or a Real Biker with a Geek friend :) ( and Beer and/or Pizza )
     
    Wildroamer likes this.
  11. Larry Vance

    Larry Vance Tuned and Synch'ed GT Contributor

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2014
    Messages:
    91
    Likes Received:
    6
    Location:
    Connecticut
    Just updated my 13 Special with the GTM Reflash tool. Follow the instructions and it 1 2 3 and done. Just had time for a quick ride and the difference was impressive. I can feel the increase in power and see that the engine revs much easier. The monster is loose!
     
    GTM® likes this.
  12. GTM®

    GTM® Administrator Staff Member GT di Razza Pura

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2009
    Messages:
    11,592
    Likes Received:
    3,721
    Location:
    Malibu
    They do on the 1400 and V85TT.
     
  13. jwtucker

    jwtucker V11 Sport 4 Life

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2011
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    36
    Location:
    Philadelephia
    I would expect that this will be par for the course on any "new" models they introduce from here on out.

    Meanwhile...

    I just applied the GTM ECU flash to my wife's V7III yesterday. This was done immediately after the first service, so I don't have a great feel for the power difference, due to the fact that we haven't been thrashing the bike during the break-in period. HOWEVER, the big difference that I noticed (and was hoping for) is much smoother throttle response, which was particularly jerky at low speed / low RPM (read: parking lot, or traffic jam speeds). Overall, quite happy with it. With the Agostini exhaust, SAS elimination, and now ECU flash, it feels like a different bike.

    __Jason
     
    Mayakovski and GTM® like this.
  14. DeadEye

    DeadEye High Miler

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2020
    Messages:
    523
    Likes Received:
    260
    Location:
    Eastern Ontario - Western Quebec
    Is it a different ECU, or the new version of the same one ?
     
  15. Wildroamer

    Wildroamer Tuned and Synch'ed GT Contributor

    Joined:
    May 9, 2020
    Messages:
    67
    Likes Received:
    44
    Location:
    New England
    To be fair, this reset is not in the included instructions. I never saw it either. I'm still not sure if it's meant to be done every time you go from stock to gtm map, or if it should be done prior or following the reflash.
     
  16. GTM®

    GTM® Administrator Staff Member GT di Razza Pura

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2009
    Messages:
    11,592
    Likes Received:
    3,721
    Location:
    Malibu
    The note below is sent with every revised map, and is talked about in the video. I recommend doing it a few times/year, or at every service at a minimum.
    Upload the attached file back to the Flash Tool, and use the mod file to flash the ECU. Once done, be sure to run the Throttle Position command under the Diagnosis > My Bike tab. This is mandatory for it to work correctly. As a reminder, keep the battery on a charger.
     
  17. jwtucker

    jwtucker V11 Sport 4 Life

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2011
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    36
    Location:
    Philadelephia
    Link was in the email when the flash tool was purchased, along with the instruction manual.
    Note that in the video, the TPS reset seems to be done automatically. For my bike, I had to go into the menu and trigger the TPS reset myself.

    __Jason
     
    Mayakovski likes this.
  18. Mayakovski

    Mayakovski High Miler GT Famiglia

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2017
    Messages:
    658
    Likes Received:
    278
    Location:
    Comox, BC, CANADA
    Thanks Jason, I did not get a link to the video, but I did get the manual and the note to run the throttle reset with my email.
     
    Wildroamer likes this.
  19. GTM®

    GTM® Administrator Staff Member GT di Razza Pura

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2009
    Messages:
    11,592
    Likes Received:
    3,721
    Location:
    Malibu
    The link to the video is on the email that was sent with the PDF and the program download. Is it that people just aren't reading the short paragraph or what?
    That video is for the 1400. I am putting one together for the V7. Slightly different.
    Also, I do not want the video live to everyone. I have removed it from the above post.
     
  20. Wildroamer

    Wildroamer Tuned and Synch'ed GT Contributor

    Joined:
    May 9, 2020
    Messages:
    67
    Likes Received:
    44
    Location:
    New England
    I actually didn't get the email at first until contacting you, you may remember. Maybe that email you then sent to me was not your standard email, as there was no video. No worries, I know how to use it well enough now, I guess. And did see the bit about the throttle reset.
     

Share This Page